Bible Bread

Ezekiel 4:9 “Take thou also unto thee wheat, and barley, and beans, and lentils, and millet, and spelt, and put them in one vessel, and make thee bread thereof…”

Ok, so it’s an old recipe. With futuristic pricing. I bought a loaf of Ezekiel 4:9 the other day on the advice of the trainer I was seeing. It’s a loaf relatively high in protein and low on carbohydrates. I opted for the low sodium version. And to be truthful, I think it tastes like old bread. It comes frozen as there are no preservatives. So frozen bread is not too appetizing. I tried toasting it to see if that enhanced the flavor. Didn’t help. Now possibly the low sodium version is not as tasty as the other versions available. I’m not sure if I feel I need to find a loaf they make that I’ll like.

I’m a bit disappointed that Jesus or one of his relatives did not appear on my toast.

[Edit: Upon further review (or revelation ;^ ) as I had a piece of toast this morning), I think the culprit is the low sodium of the loaf I chose. I think the lack of salt just kills the taste. That and I very lightly toasted the last piece I ate so I think the light toaster setting helps bring out the flavor.]

So I can’t recommend the low sodium version, but let divine inspiration guide you to a choice of their other offerings.

6 Responses to Bible Bread

  1. KarenE says:

    It’s probably a “Where’s Waldo” deal. You have to look very closely!
    The Gluten Free Raisin Pecan is great toasted with cream cheese, but that sort of defeats the purpose the trainer intended, eh?

  2. Susan says:

    Don, I have been eating that bread for years….it is great toasted with natural peanut butter on it. I am sure your trainer would approve. A trainer?? What for??

  3. For working off a portion of my fat ass in a more efficient method than I have been able to on my own.

  4. Becca says:

    Yeah – I tried the sesame – required large amounts of salted butter to choke down the toast. Probably a few slices still in the dark nether reaches of my freezer….

  5. Sissy says:

    I finally figured out how to leave a link to your blog on my blog. Don’t expect any traffic- I get zero,but at least it’s on there. I’ve been checking back for a new post. You’re slacking.

Leave a Reply

