Steak!

I’m constantly amazed by the quality of food offered by Central Market. I bought a bone-in 1 inch thick Rib Eye steak the other day, and it was beautifully marbled. It’s a bit nerve wracking for me to see such a fine steak and not worry about overcooking it or failing to bring it to it’s full potential. The method I’ve been using lately is washing the meat after it’s been brought up to room temperature. You don’t want to wash a frozen steak because the tap water would thaw out the steak too quickly. And of course you don’t want to cook a frozen steak. So you have to woo a steak, take your time with it, to get all it’s charms. After the steak is at room temperature, washed and patted dry, a dusting of fresh ground black pepper and sea salt patted into the meat is all you need to bring this gem to it’s full potential. As with the bacon in a previous post, I sliced into the fatty parts of the steak to help render the fat. I heat up the iron skillet and the oven simultaneously. The oven is set about 375, but you can play with the formula depending upon the thickness of the steak and how much you want it cooked. Once the iron skillet is hot, I put the near naked steak in the pan, then it goes immediately into the oven sizzling the whole way. I like this method as it’s relatively quick and I think that the steak getting hit by both sides at once (the hot skillet bottom and the exposed side of the steak in the heated air of the oven) helps sear and seal the steak juices. Prior to all this I steamed some small carrots and some cubed red potatoes. I also sauteed in Plugra butter 3 different kinds of mushrooms. After about 10 minutes or so I flipped the steak and sent it back into the oven. I noticed that at that 10 minute mark the steak was looking pretty cooked and decided to only leave the steak in for a few minutes more.
I pulled the skillet out of the oven and put the steamed vegetables in the skillet for a quick reheat and to impart a few of the steak juices onto the potatoes, carrots and mushrooms. At this time I also added a sliced up bulb onion. I removed the steak to let it rest for about 15 minutes to let the juices distribute evenly throughout the steak. That resting part is probably the most overlooked part of the cooking process by home cooks. The meat will continue to cook while resting for a few minutes.

When I first cut into it I was a bit crest fallen as I feared I overcooked the steak since I didn’t detect much pink in the slice, but my tactile brain sensors told me otherwise. The steak was fork tender, in part because of all that marvelous marbling that kept the steak internally juicy. It turned out to be one hell of a steak.

One Response to Steak!

  1. Sissy says:

    I’m really impressed by your culinary skills and lack of laziness. I’m incredibly lazy about fixing good meals. Keep up the good work. Enjoying the food second hand here.

Leave a Reply

