Broccoli’s fancy cousin

One of my favorite vegetables is Broccolini also known by the moniker no doubt thought up by marketers, as Asparation.

My first experience with it was at a Vegas buffet, I believe at the Mirage. It was prepared as I have done here, sauteed in olive oil and garlic.

I steamed it a bit first in a little water to soften the stems just a touch. You can skip this step if you like a lot of crunch. The stems are entirely edible and not woody as broccoli stems can sometimes be. The steaming also brings out the very intense green color in this vegetable. While I was steaming the broccolini, I chopped up some garlic. I chose to slice the garlic as opposed to mincing as I didn’t want the garlic to overwhelm the delicate flavor of the broccolini. As you may know the finer you chop garlic, the more intense the flavor. The reason for this is the finer you chop garlic the more surface area and thus the essential oils of the garlic you expose to the air. The exposure to air is what “activates” the garlic. You may not know that it has been discovered recently that the healthy benefits of garlic are intensified if you let the garlic rest for about thirty minutes after you chop or mince before use.

On the menu tonight was the sauteed brocollini and some wild salmon. No, it wasn’t canned, but individually frozen 4 ounce fillets from (gasp!) Walmart. My local Walmart Market usually carries two types of wild salmon, the kind I used and a whole side pre-sliced and frozen. They aren’t line caught Coho, or King, but they’ll do in a pinch.I usually like a bit of dill with my salmon and so I’ve added a little dill infused mayonnaise on the side as an accompanying sauce. It’s a quick and easy dinner and makes me feel better about the brisket sandwich I had for lunch.

3 Responses to Broccoli’s fancy cousin

  1. KarenE says:

    Ok , you’re cookin’ from now on!

  2. Susan says:

    Why do I read these posts and then get the urge to eat???

  3. You’re being hypnotized.

Leave a Reply

