What is this thing?

I had another lazy Saturday morning, so after I did my low and slow bacon cooking (see post below) I was in a goofy mood and decided to play with my food. I had an old red potato that was a bit long in the tooth, so I decided to put it out of its misery. I decided to grate the potato to make hash browns. But a funny thing happened on the way to the skillet.

I grated the potato and as it piled up on the plate, I tamped it down to make it more manageable. Then I got carried away. I kept pressing it down to get as much moisture out of it. By the time I had finished I had an organic frisbee. This thing was no more than a 1/8 of an inch thick, somewhere between a thick potato chip and a thin french fry. This would be quite telling later after it was cooked.So now I had this rather bizarre looking disk that I decided would look a bit more appetizing if it were cooked in oil, butter and bacon grease to a crisp golden brown! So into the trusty iron skillet it went.

So after a few minutes in the skillet where I continued to press the hell out of it, it was ready to try. After a fresh grind of black pepper and a sprinkle of sea salt it had a flavor somewhere between a potato chip and a french fry. One mistake I made was to assume it needed salt forgetting that I had cooked the potato in some of the left over bacon grease from the aforementioned bacon cooking. So it was a bit salty, but not inedible. I guess you could call this a big thick potato chip, a big flat french fry, a big potato pancake, or the poor cousin to a potato galette. What ever one would call it it wasn’t bad. Would I make it again? Probably not, at least not the same way. But I had a bit of cheap fun experimenting in the kitchen and unlike the old chemistry set I had as a kid, nothing blew up.

2 Responses to What is this thing?

  1. Susan says:

    Two fried eggs on top??

Leave a Reply

