A simple lazy pasta

The other night I had a hankering for some plain pasta. The cupboard was a little bare but that was ok, as I didn’t want one of those fancy city slicker pastas, but just a quick simple dish. I had an open package of Fideos No. 168. I had some garlic. I had some Colavida olive oil. I had some pearl onions left over from my attempt at Boeuf Bourguignon (God, yes, it does take that many steps, I’ll post that sometime in the future). So while the salted water was working its way to a rolling boil, I minced the garlic and pearl onions, added the olive oil and a bit of Plugra butter, put it all into a ceramic baking dish in the toaster oven for a few minutes to cook the garlic and sweat the onions and melt the butter.

The pasta is quite thin, much like an angel hair pasta so it doesn’t take long to cook. Since I’m a lazy bastard, when the pasta was cooked, I drained it and tossed it directly into the dish that cooked the garlic and onions. This kept the pasta hot and the ceramic dish was not so hot as to be unmanageable plus I had one less dish to wash. Since I didn’t have any parsley on hand to give the dish any color, I sprinkled on a few chives for a final dress along with some shavings of Parmigiano Reggiano.

Ta da! In the time it took to boil a small pot of water, I had a quick pasta dish.

2 Responses to A simple lazy pasta

  1. Susan says:

    And where were the ITALIAN seasonings and fresh grated Locatelli cheese??? Italians prefer Locatelli to the over rated Paremsan Reggiano. Again on a toasted bagette with a good red wine, perferably one with a cork, and not in a box with a spigot, it is a pretty good dinner also….

Leave a Reply

