The soup to keep me going nuts

Dear Reader,

There was a bit of delay getting up and running. The only thing that has been running is my nose as the meek bug that will someday inherit the earth has taken lodging in the depths of my lungs. But dear reader, I’ve turned this opportunity into a review of two Whole Foods soups that cost the same as a case of Campbells condensed chicken soup.

In my delirium, I drove to CVS pharmacy to get Big Pharma’s latest effort to alleviate pain and suffering. Armed with orange and blue caplets I coughed and wheezed my way to the Whole Foods on Lomo Alto and Lemmon. With prior knowledge that they have some of the best chicken noodle soup known to (sick) man, I eagerly anticipated filling up a large container of the magic elixir. I stepped up to the soup bar and was crest fallen. No chicken noodle soup in any of their steaming hot cauldrons. In a panic I perused the proffered selections and settled on a tortilla soup that according to the ingredient list was a south of the border version of chicken noodle soup substituting the noodles with tortillas and a healthy (I hope) dose of peppers. I filled the quart size to-go container to the brim, and as I walked away, I remembered that they usually have a chili station similar to the soup station adjacent to the meat counter. With a precarious grip on this quart size furnace that was roasting my hands, in a fog I made my way to the satellite of the soup station and to my utter joy, I spied that there was my golden fleece, a deep vat of chicken noodle soup. Just as I was walking up to the altar of my salvation, my consummation with my future purchase was delayed by a sauntering co-customer that managed to just arrive before me and was extremely deliberate (read slow) in his deliberation as to which soup to purchase with the choice between lamb stew or the aforementioned chicken noodle. Now dear reader I knew what I wanted, so it took all my reserve strength to not plunge this mans head into the lamb stew to keep him occupied while I merrily ladled out chicken noodle. I visited my calm place while he tut-tutted and deliberated. Finally he moved on and grabbing another quart container, I lifted the lid of the chicken soup and thought, ‘this is a lot of chicken’. As I was filling the container, I was amazed and a bit alarmed at the quantity of chicken and the lack of any other ingredients. I stirred the soup, to no avail. There was nothing else in this soup save for huge chunks of chicken and what could be generously called scraps of carrot. Their chicken noodle had always been generous with chicken, but previous purchases were a more balanced traditional recipe.

I had a brief moral dilemma: Should I abandon the tortilla soup since I found the chicken noodle? I know I couldn’t pour it back into its original container. Since I hate to see abandoned food stuff on shelves in stores, I decided to practice what I preach and purchased both soups. A wise choice as it turned out.

I rushed home with my pills, soups, a small baguette, and some sort of vitamin C super food drink. I opened the chicken noodle hoping that somehow on the race home vegetables had found their way into the container. Alas, no. I filled a bowl with the still warm soup and my previous impression remained, ‘that’s a lot of chicken’. Now taking in account my taste buds were fighting for their lives, the soup was rather bland even with a healthy dose of fresh ground pepper. It was a disappointing attempt. Perhaps the chef  that day was feeling worse than me.

The second soup, the tortilla, was a much better attempt. Shredded chicken here, as opposed to whole chunks as was the case with the chicken noodle, was a hearty base. Vegetables abounded here, two kinds of squash, onion, tomato, carrot, celery were prominent. The south of the border spices were noticeable here too.

Reader, please take into account that I’m in a drug and soup induced stupor, so I apologize in advance if this only makes any sense in my pressurized head.

I still plan on uploading the previous food related posts from my facebook page, but I thought I’d make an attempt at an original post to start off before I turn to reruns.

One Response to The soup to keep me going nuts

  1. Susan says:

    All that work for soup and you could have snagged 2 cans of Campbells Chicken Noodle Soup at CVS ?? Me thinks you are a glutton for punishment…

Leave a Reply

